University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown

Nursing Society Inducts 24 UPJ Students


Twenty-four Pitt-Johnstown nursing students were inducted into Sigma (an international nursing society) in a ceremony held at the John P. Murtha Center for Public Service and National Competitiveness on Thursday, November 29, 2018. 

Nursing students who meet eligibility criteria and demonstrate excellence in scholarship are invited to join Sigma. From its inception, Sigma has recognized the value of scholarship and excellence in nursing practice. In 1936, Sigma became the first U.S. organization to fund nursing research.

Dawn Drahnak (Assistant Professor or Nursing at Pitt-Johnstown and ETA Chapter Governance Committee Member) welcomed students and their families.

Eta Vice-President Deb Thompson delivered the induction preamble and Eta Chapter President Susan Miller presented the member inductees.

Janet Grady (VPAA and Nursing and Health Sciences Division Chair) and Diana Schroeder (Nursing Program Coordinator) continued the tradition of the ETA Inductees signing the ETA Chapter Membership Ledger after receiving their purple and white membership cords.

In 1922, six nurses founded Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing (now known as Sigma). The founders chose the name from the Greek words storgé, tharsos, and timé, meaning love, courage, and honor. Sigma became incorporated in 1985 and is a nonprofit organization with a 501(c)(3) tax status in the United States. Sigma's mission is advancing world health and celebrating nursing excellence in scholarship, leadership, and service. Sigma's vision is to be the global organization of choice for nursing.

Nursing student inductees were:  James Adamy, Michaela Bertovich, Levi Bonzo, Alexa Chavera, Camille Dvorsky, Cheyenne Fazi, Jaidyn Fronzaglio, Kaitlyn Kieta, Meredith Kline, John-Michael Knepp, Macala Lemin, Cassidy Lewis, Danielle Lippl, Shayna Lundberg, Steven McKay, Allison Melvin, Natalie Pilewski, Chelsea Pyne, Savannah Reynolds, Christina Rizzo, Emilie Stocker, Sonja Tercier, McKendra Walker, and Mollie Whare.

Sigma inductees