University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown

Board of Advisors

The University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown Board of Advisors guides the college on matters concerning the educational and economic needs of the communities served by Pitt- Johnstown. The Board elicits and maintains public support for the institution and shall counsel the administrative officials of the college in the discharge of their respective functions.

Members of the Pitt-Johnstown Board of Advisors represent city and community leaders and Pitt-Johnstown alumni.

Active Members

Thomas M. Kurtz '77, Chair
President / CEO of Chan Soon-Shiong Medical Center at Windber and
Chan Soon-Shiong Institute of Molecular Medicine at Windber

Jodie Saylor Novak '84, Vice Chair

Richard A. Bross ‘73
Retired Group Vice President, Hormel Foods 

Richard A. Burkert
President & CEO, Johnstown Area Heritage Association

Alan Cashaw
President, NAACP Johnstown Branch

Jonna Contacos-Sawyer, PhD '83
President/Consulting Principal, HR Consultants, Inc.

G. Henry Cook
Somerset Trust Company

Lana V. Custer '65
Retired Teacher

M. Mitchell Fetterolf '78
Vice President, Fetterolf Group, Inc.

Jyothi Gella, M.D.
President, Gella LLC

Michael P. Hruska 2000
President/CEO, Problem Solutions

Sean C. Isgan '82
Apex Companies

Kim W. Kunkle
President and CEO, Laurel Holdings, Inc.

Michael K. Lauf '93
President and CEO, Cape Code Healthcare

Ernest J. Mantini, DMD '79

Gary A. Minchau, DMD '68

Mark E. Pasquerilla
President, Pasquerilla Enterprises

Howard M. Picking III
Retired, CEO of Miller-Picking Company

John J. Polacek, Jr.
Chief Operating Officer, JWF Defense Systems and JWF Industries

Carl R. Sax '58
Retired, CFO of Kuchera Defense Systems

Edward J. Sheehan, Jr
President and CEO, Concurrent Technologies Corporation

Dorothy L. Stroz ‘84
Retired, Department of Commerce’s US Census Bureau/Geography

Douglas R. Weimer ‘75
Retired Legislative Attorney, Library of Congress

Stephen G. Zamias
Vice Chairman, Zamias Services, Inc. 

Emeritus Members

  • E. Jeanne Gleason, Chair


Ex Officio Members

  • The Honorable Wayne Langerholc, Jr. 
  • The Honorable Frank Burns '99
  • Thomas Chernisky, Cambria County Commissioners
  • The Honorable John N. Wozniak '78
  • The Honorable Jim Rigby
  • The Honorable John Joyce

Year indicates Pitt-Johnstown graduation class